Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Murphy: 168 TTSX 30-06 COAL???

Question Murphy: 168 TTSX 30-06 COAL???

Murphy,
    I read a previous post where you recommended seating the TTSX slightly and then running the round through the chamber to get the bullet to touch the rifling and subsequently seat itself with the bullet touching the lands. I did this today with my Rem 700 and the total length was 3.521 and 3.523 (i did this twice). You then said to seat the bullet .050 deeper. That would leave my COAL at 3.471. Does that sound correct? The barnes manual said COAL should be 3.218. I'm a beginner and I want to make sure this is ok because it definitely looks off the way it is. The neck is dead center on the first ring of the bullet from the base. I'm at a loss because the 3.218 from the manual seats the bullet very deeply into the case but your method seems to leave it way out.

Thank You,
    Mike

Also, I forgot to mention but the round as you said to do it does cycle from the magazine without a problem.

Mike,

I'm not Murphy but if you use this technique you want to make sure that you have just enough neck tension to hold the bullet in the neck and loose enough that the rifling will push the bullet into the neck when it contacts the bullet ogive. Too much tension will cause the bullet to jam into the lands and not enough tension may cause the bullet to pull out of the neck slightly when you cycle it out. Make sure you cycle in slowly and out slowly and when you cycle out, put a finger on the case so it doesn't flip out to the side.

As far as COAL, different rifles will have different chamber and throat dimenssions. If you do this technique correct, you will end up with the correct COAL. I use this method myself.

-MR

Default More On COAL...