Thread: How to judge moose antler size?

Default How to judge moose antler size?

I wonder if some of you guys would share your methods of judging weather a moose will go 50" or not. I did a search on this but didn't have any luck.

Thanks

I'm very new to this but i did find some material on this so please somebody tell me if this is wrong. I read that on a bull in alaska, canadian and shiras moose being different that the tip of the ear to the tip of the other ear spread is about 30 inches if the ears are straight out. This being the case an ear is about 10 inches long (hope this is right) so if you are looking straight at a bull and there is an extra ear length past the tip of each ear it should be about 50 inches if you have an extra ear and a half your closer to 60in. Also i read that the distance between the burrs or bases of the horns are 7.5-8 inches so you could do the math from there but that sounds pretty difficult. Anyways hope I'm helping, anyone please correct me if this is innaccurate info I read.

I like 10 inches from outside eye to outside eye. Then if you can double that on each side AND, !AND! have more antler beyond, he's 50+.

Get the video from Fish and Game. It's very informative.

Taylor

Check out the video streaming online! http://www.multimedia.adfg.alaska.go...mooselegal.wmv

You will need windows media player. The method Marc uses is the one reccommended by ADF&G.

Default Good link

Thanks Lu John for the excellent link. Good stuff. I'm heading out Sat. the 29th to scout and get one tied down for the opener on Tues. the 1st. Man am I pumped!!!

50 inchers tend to have flat beams and then turn up before the palm. If the beams are V'd it most likely isn't 50". I never got a handle on the ear to ear of measurement between the ear thing.

Tim