Thread: 270 WSM help needed

Default 270 WSM help needed

Okay, I have a 270 WSM that, with factory ammo of all kinds is a tackdriver. Nothing grouped over an inch and most were under half that. Unfortunately I have not had so much success with loads of my own. I've tried Barnes, Hornady, Speer, Nosler and Swift. I've used different powders of various charges. I've tinkered with the primers, seating depth and crimp.

I need some help here. If there's a pet load that someone has, please share. Feel free to PM me with any info if you don't care to post it.

As a side note, I've been reloading for 17 years and am by no means a rookie but I don't claim to know everything.

Thanks for any help that may be offered.

I've had great luck with Winchester Brass, Federal 215M primers, Reloder 17 powder, and 140 Grain Nosler Accubonds. Shoots under an inch off the bench with my Sako 85 stainless synthetic, velocity of 3100 fps over the chrony. Best of luck on your hunt for the perfect load.

DS

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

we just finished a load for that yesterday...

Nosler 150 yellow Ballistic tips

winchester brass

CCI LRM

58.5 gn RL19

in a Browning a bolt

3 holes covered wit a quarter at 100.
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Not sure if this will help or not. Most overbore cases derive there best accuracy when loaded to the safe max. This often gets overlooked as most reloaders want a prudent safe load with long case life. We can have a safe max load at the expense of case life.
    Try increasing your loads till you have obvious high pressure signs.
    Good Luck!
    Tennessee

Thanks for the input folks. I've experienced sticky bolts, cratered primers and bright spots on the case heads but no split necks yet, thankfully. I'll try some of the loads listed and see how it goes.