Thread: Gas or Diesel truck

Default Gas or Diesel truck

Wife and i are planning to move to either Seward or Homer next spring. She is a retired Alaskan school teacher who taught in Adak, Barrows and Cordova I'm a lifetime resident of Tennessee and i've talked her into moving back to Alaska I'm not retired and have a F 250 Diesel truck for my business ( Chimney cleaning and repairs etc ) which i plan to continue once we arrive. My question is will a Diesel work in the winters there or should i get a gas truck. We get some weather in the teens and even single didgets here and so far no problems. But just wondering what others say Thanks

No problems with diesels in S.C. Alaska. Make sure you have good batteries, good glow plugs (on a Ford), and a freeze plug heater and you will be good to go. My Fords get plugged in at 20F, but my Duramax doesn't need it until 0F.

I've been running diesels up here since I was in high school in '86. All the generations of Fords, heavy equipment, Cat 3406's, and my current Duramax Chevy. The only issues I have ever had was fuel. If you are running the truck all the time you will likely never have an issue. The only time you really get caught is if you have summer fuel in the truck and don't drive it much..and then get caught in November with gelled fuel. I did have issues at -40F last winter with the new ULSD, but Homer and Seward aren't going to see those temps.

I also highly suggest a quality synthetic oil. I use Rotella Synthetic 5W-50 in all my rigs with great success. Diesel fuel up here right now is about 40 cents higher than unleaded. That negates quite a bit of savings of owning a diesel. You already own one, so you might as well run with it.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

Quote Originally Posted by AKDoug View Post