Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Throttle thumb

Default Throttle thumb

Without sounding like too much of a wimp, I'm still new to the ATV world. I went out and rode for about 30 miles the other day and my right hand is killing me. I've got a Yamaha Grizz 450. How do you guys that ride all day long manage to do it? I've got the thumb extention but opted not to use it yesterday-guess I'll install it but I'm a little unsure how much of a help it will be.

Practice...lots of practice.

Honestly just a matter of building up that muscle.

The thumb extender might be a bad idea. I noticed when i tried one that backing up and turning sharp can push the throttle against your leg/knee. Could be a bad thing in the wrong area.

Remember a thread about someone and a wheeler going into the big su due to the throttle extender.

Many new people to ATVing have that problem and it goes away after you develope some more strength in your thumb/hand. I did use an assist for a short while but soon took it off. The throttle extension can get you in trouble as I found out. When going down a steep hill your hand can bump against it which gives you a burst of throttle when you really dont want it !

Default Thumb Thing

I don't use one, but I know people who do.

http://www.helmetoutletusa.com/index...R.U.%20Outside

You mean you haven't seen the informercials for the thumb-strengthening attachment for a Bowflex--the ones with the spandex-gloved hand with the rippling thumb muscles?

Seriously, probably you are riding with your upper body too tense, which is a common beginner mistake. About once a minute while riding, try wriggling your fingers (which forces you to release the gorilla grip your hands may have defaulted back to).

With a little more practice and confidence, you'll probably find that the sore thumb issue goes away.

Smile consider shorter rides...