Thread: Am I reading the regs. right?

Default Am I reading the regs. right?

I'm going on a brown bear hunt in 16B. As I read the regs. I don't need a locking tag or a harvest permit I just shoot and when I get back I have it checked in. I called the trooper in Soldotna and thats what he reads also. This is my first year hunting as a resident so I just want to be in the right. If you read it different or have other knowledge about the area don't be shy and please reply.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

NO TAG REQUIRED for residents... unless your hunting the denali STATE park part of 16a

have the hide sealed after it is shot at a F&G office your correct.

your also allowed two bears... per regulatory year... so if you bust two now you have to wait until next fall for two more..

but if you pop ONE you can get one more in teh spring and two next fall... ( or try to....)
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Default Thanks!

Thats how I read it also. It just seems weird that you don't need a tag. With a two bear limit there must be lots of them and the f&g want them thinned out a little. Thanks for the response.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by kodiak kid View Post
    Thats how I read it also. It just seems weird that you don't need a tag. With a two bear limit there must be lots of them and the f&g want them thinned out a little. Thanks for the response.
    unit 13 also does not require a tag.. EXCEPT that portion in the state park... open year round.. but only ONE bear...

both have good grzz populations...
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here