Thread: Learned some lessons, flipped our raft on the Nenana

Default Learned some lessons, flipped our raft on the Nenana

First of all, I must say that I am a pretty novice rafter. My friend and I wanted to do an easy stretch of the Nenana to get some more experience under our belts. So, we decided to put-in at the Jack River by Cantwell, and float down to the Glitter Gulch area(Mile 238 Parks Highway). This was last Thursday 8/13/09.

We rented an NRS Otter raft, and the rental came with life jackets, a repair kit, and three oars. The only thing it didn't come with was drysuits. We made the STUPID STUPID HORRIBLE decision to neglect the drysuits, because of the $350 deposit needed to rent them locally. This was my 4th time on the Nenana this summer, so I know the river really well, and knew that it was a really calm stretch of river. But, that is no excuse whatsoever to neglect drysuits, which I now know.

The trip was mostly a calm float, and we didn't start seeing many rapids until we passed mile 231 or so. It took us about 10 hours to get from Cantwell to the Kingfisher bridge at mile 238. We hit a couple of stretches where it was nearly impossible to miss rocks, but all in all didn't have any problems maneuvering the raft for 99% of the trip...