Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pegging or Lining? Help!

Default Pegging or Lining? Help!

Okay, I am a newbie to flyfishing and am still getting the hang of all this, but here's one question that I can't seem to get a straight answer out of anyone on:

Per the regs, at Quartz Creek, is pegging legal?

I have had a couple different opinions given to me on this, but the way I read the regs, if the bead is within 2 inches of the hook, then it's legal to peg. Any other distance further away from the hook, it must be free-sliding.

Any input on this? I know there was a thread about this, but for the life of me, I can't find it.

Also, I know people (illegally??) peg the bead at about 4-6 inches, but at that point, isn't it lining, er, rather, simply pulling the hook to near the mouth, not technically legally hooking it?

Thanks so much for the answers. Also, please share (if you're comfortable) what you've used successfully at Quartz. I have my mottled red 8mm beads, but seemed to do better with the apricot 8 mm.

Thanks!
    Kristie
    ~ Kristie~
    The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope. ~John Buchan

You may peg the bead within 2 inches of your hook if you wish (in non fly fishing only waters), any more is illegal. You may not fish beads in fly fishing only water (the russian till august 20) unless they are attached to the hook.

Hope this helps
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Personally I have much better luck using a smaller bead (6mm) on Quartz. You need something that very closely resembles a fresh sockeye egg. You only need to go about an inch and a half above the hook. Any further will result in alot of foul hooked fish. Pinching down the barb will also make life much easier. You really don't lose that many more fish and it saves alot of wear and tear on those dollies.

Default Out of the ordinary?