Thread: Question for those who have horses--

Default Question for those who have horses--

I'm living in the bush right now but will be moving to the Anchorage area soon. I'd like to bring my three horses up from Montana when I do. Has anyone here ever hauled horses in from the outside? I have a real nice trailer and truck but any advise would sure be appreciated.

I'm also wondering about getting hay here in Alaska. What is the cost for a ton? Is it difficult to find hay here??

What does it cost to have a horse shoed here?

Thanks guys

Do yourself a favor..... Shoot them now

Quote Originally Posted by deervalley27 View Post
    Do yourself a favor..... Shoot them now
    Nope, I've been climbing on horses for 40 years, there's nothing I like better.
    A gal in Fairbanks just emailed and said she's paying about $350 a ton for hay, does this sound about right?
    She also said $90 for shoes-- thats not as bad as I would have thought.

i grew up in great falls, where you from in mt?

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

hey packer sending you a PM>.. my folks hauled horses up and down bunches of times... i will give you my dads Email and let you talk to him..he is currently in norther AZ. ...
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Default horses in Alaska

Hello,

Stop sites along the AlCan Hwy you can get a nice list of from the Alaska Horse Journal, they have a web site at www.alaskahorsejournal.com There are alot of haulers going back and forth right now and into September. I can connect them up with each other if there is trouble along the way sometimes (trannies out, sick horses, etc).