Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Entry level machine

Default Entry level machine

I have been looking into an entry level 4 wheeler, but I wanted to get some suggestions before I get serious.

I have some experience on 4 wheelers, mostly in the mountains of afghanistan and riding some other people's
    machines. I would be using it mostly for plowing the driveway, light trail riding, and hunting. I'm not looking to spend
    a ton of money off the bat and I have no issues with buying used as long as it hasnt been abused. This would wind up
    being my wifes machine down the road so being easy to ride would be a plus; she wasnt too keen on the idea of a
    manual shift. Any suggestions as what to look for would be great- Lets hear some of your opinions!

My advise is if you are going to be using it for hunting then forget about the "entry level machine" concept. Get a Grizzly with EPS (power steering) and you and your wife will both love it now and the future.

If I were in the market for a "wife" machine I would buy a used Honda Rubicon or a used Kodiak 450, something that I would enjoy riding myself.

A few of my friends bought older, cheaper, rougher riding, foot shift machines for their wives and they ended up riding them. Their wives took ownership of the newer ones.
    USN Seabee '90-'95, NRA Life Member

I agree with Happy. Those are two great choices!
    The EPS makes the big rigs work great even for women. I bought my wife a Kodiak 400 cause I got a screaming deal. If I were to do it again I would go w/ the Kodi 450 for its dif lock. The Kodi works great for her and even w/ 3 wheel drive running mudlites it gets through all but the worst.
    I will go w/ a full size machine in the 650-750 range when I buy . For a 180 plus pound man I view the 500cc mark as being the smallest one should go. There are lots of great deals to be had on the used market in that class too.