Thread: CANNING SOUP HELP!!!!!!!!!how do I???????

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Default CANNING SOUP HELP!!!!!!!!!how do I???????

okay.. i am a really good cook,, ( not to toot my horn, i just am)... i make soups and chowders all the time and want to make several batches for moose camp... this year. as it appears we will be on the road for it

how do you CAN SOUP? can i sea it like a veggie in a hot bath or do i cook it in the canner... ??

calm chowder will be my nemesis on this one... cause i make a BASHING crashing Great chowder!!... but wont have them breaking on me later...

ideas thought S.. if i just cook it then can it in a hot bath... suggestions on times? longevity? etc

thanks
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Vince,
    Wife and I have canned a bunch of soups/stews/chili etc. in the pressure canner with a lot of success but nothing cream based. I'm thinking Manhattan chowder would be a piece of cake but New England style has a few wrinkles.

A water bath canner would not work all that good for that- gotta be high acid/high sugar food for water bath canning. Think tomatoes, think pickles, think fruit- don't think clams.

Check out the Ball website or page 61 of the Ball Blue Book (if you have one handy) for a recipe for canning New England Clam Chowder Base. They specifically tell you not to add the milk and butter during the canning process. I'm guessing the milk would do bad, bad things in a jar inside a pressure canner (curdle, heck turn to cheese for all I know).

Apparently you make the "base" in the canner and then when you cook it in camp add the milk and butter... powdered milk would probably be just fine. Not quite as easy as opening a can of Campbells but probably a lot better.

Let me know how it turns out if you try it.