Thread: Steese Hunt

Default Steese Hunt

This is my first year being stationed in Alaska and not being over in the hot sandbox. Can anyone give me any input about how the hunting is along the Steese? I'm looking at the twelve mile summit/table top area. Does this area produce a good opportunity at success? Any info will help.

Default welcome back

I think you need to be aliitle more specific about what you are hunting for
    and are you on foot, wheeler,etc.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

well first, welcome back sben been awhile since i have seen ya...

on the steece you can count on company... but that is to be expected on all the roads.... moose are on the up swing since the fire in 04

Bou are still hit or miss during the fall hunt most are taken well back in the hills.... the largest portion of the fall harvest of the herd will come out of the 40 mile the first two days it is open... bears are always around.. look for Griz at or above tree line and more blackies as you get closer to the river ... as the Berry's come on they will be across the hills sides.. when least expected... take you time on them... you will find a nice one... if you look.

the steece is best now for its winter bou hunt.. another mad dash for meat... similar to the forty mile melay...
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Default More info

I guess I wasn't very specific...apparently I shouldn't drink and make posts. We are planning on going up for caribou hopefully on Sat night/Sunday morning. We will be taking our 4wheelers up and getting off the beaten path on foot. We would like to scout Sunday and be ready Monday when the season opens.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by sbenjamin78 View Post