Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just moved to Bethel, AK....

Default Just moved to Bethel, AK....

from Portland, OR. Did a search on Bethel and Kuskokwim and found some great info on the site to get me started. Just wondering if you guys had any more information that might help me out here? Back in Oregon, I hunted elk, deer, waterfowl and upland birds. The last 4 years, all my big game has been primarily bowhunting...I just can't get enough of it. I've got all my gear sitting in storage in Oregon, just waiting to be mailed to me...I just don't know what to send? Waterfowl gear? Big game?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

PM sent for info.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Here's a couple of pictures from Oregon to make opening this page somewhat worth it.

My 2008 archery bull

Some Portland area ducks

Some Oregon coast widgeon

And my good buddy "Chief" I had to leave behind back in Oregon

nice, I'm moving up the river a bit to Tuluksak Saturday. I havn't been up there yet and don't know a whole lot about hunting/ fishing up there. One word of wisdom don't try and sneak by with a resident tag, a couple people from my school district got nailed last year. Also look at the prices for big game, it's not cheap till your a resident.

Waterfowl gear a must in the Y-K!!!!!!
    There are few opportunities to hunt big game the 1st yr. as a non-resident in the Y-K but plan on bringing your gear regardless. You can hunt moose in a few areas for non-res but transportion is the main issue to getting around. A few muskox reg permits that is first come-first serve but again you will be paying non-res fees and needing the transportation.

Talking