Thread: Powders and temperature.

Default Powders and temperature.

I am fairly new to reloading, and was wondering how big of a role temperature plays with point of impact? Do the hodgdon extreme powders make any difference? I was thinking that if anyone had to deal with extreme temperature differences it was you guys up there!

Quote Originally Posted by WEBBYODER View Post
    I am fairly new to reloading, and was wondering how big of a role temperature plays with point of impact? Do the hodgdon extreme powders make any difference? I was thinking that if anyone had to deal with extreme temperature differences it was you guys up there!
    This is a good question, but it has been generally irrelevant to me. While it does get "cold" here, I don't do much hunting in "cold" weather. Normally my season is over by the end of September and the cold is just beginning. This past year was an exception as a good friend had yet to fill his moose tag and hunted the December season. His shot was about 150 yards and it did not get above 25 below that day. No problem for the 375 H&H, but you have to remember the vitals on a moose is about the size of the door on your oven so a couple inches one way or another doesn't make much difference.

There are changes in velocity with some powders in cold weather, though the change is not always easy to predict and it is rarely a linear change. However, at the range most game is taken, the difference is not significant. I am more concerned with hunting in hotter temps where ammo can get too hot and the pressures may rise to dangerous levels than I am with the 50-100 fps I might lose in "cold" weather.

Loads developed in a cold climate for a hunt in a hot climate will produce higher pressures. Likewise loads that I develop down here in Arizona when it's 110 at the range shoot slower and lower when I show up at my brothers house for a fall hunt in Alaska.