Thread: Shark this weekend

Default Shark this weekend

I am thinking of heading over to the east side this weekend out of Whittier to try for sharks. Is anyone else from the board headed this way? Also, is there a place in Anchorage to buy whole pinks for bait? I remember hearing that it is OK to use sport caught fish for this now, but I did not think ahead when I was releasing them when silver fishing. Also, I assume that there are a lot of pinks where the sharks are, so another possibility is to catch a few pinks first. This is my first time trying to shark, so any comments are appreciated. I went to B&J's and got Tom's current version of a shark setup, so we will see how this all goes.

Jim
    2009 Seawolf 31'
    www.seawolfmarine.com
    Fully Loaded

I think you can only use sport caught pinks and chums in southeast for bait (could be wrong), I'm sure the fish processer in whittier has plenty of pinks though
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Quote Originally Posted by ak_powder_monkey View Post
    I think you can only use sport caught pinks and chums in southeast for bait (could be wrong), I'm sure the fish processer in whittier has plenty of pinks though

I just talked to Fish and Game and they said it is OK to use sport caught picks for bait now. I would like to have some with me instead of having to catch them before fishing. I did not know that there was a processor in Whittier. Do you know their name or where they are at? I would like to contact them and at least pick up a few on the way out.

Jim
    2009 Seawolf 31'
    www.seawolfmarine.com
    Fully Loaded

Quote Originally Posted by ak_powder_monkey View Post
    It changed this year to be able to use sport caught pinks, and maybe chums, for bait in SC.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/