Thread: Centerpinning? Anyone?

Default Centerpinning? Anyone?

Heard about centerpinning recently with float rods. My curiousity is peaked. If anyone out there does this, would you share here or shoot me a pm. I am mostly curious what type of set up works well in Alaska. Any info at all appreciated as I am brand new to the concept.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Not enough info from me Dan?
    Or you think I'm holding out on the best info until I get paid in beer and food.

Man, I have talked to every rod builder around trying to find a 4 piece. I have this thing for rods that break down in a tidy case for travel. Found a rod perhaps. A 12.5' 7/8 spey custom four piece. Now I have to figure out everything else. Curious what kind of set ups are used most commonly in Alaska. Thinking that might help guide some decisions. It is safe to assume I will be flying up with a centerpin set up. I am still counting on you to teach me how to cast the darn thing. Casting lesson for beer/food. I have not forgot
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Dan
    If you are looking at a custom look at Newzealands CTS rod blanks.
    They are available in up to 6 piece and 16 feet for spey blanks.
    Spey conversions are quite a bit heavier though, and you know it at the end of the day. If you're going for a spey conversion stick to a 6 or 7 wt anything heavier is overkill most of the time. Most of the guy's in AK that are pinning use flys, beads and jigs. Setup is very similar to Washington and BC. BC has some very big fish in very fast flowing high gradient rivers that require stouter tackle. 20 to 30# mainline and giant 30+ gram floats.

Default No kidding!!

Quote Originally Posted by DRIFTER_016 View Post