Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling with Deep Six Diving Sinkers

Question Trolling with Deep Six Diving Sinkers

I've never used these divers before, but we're going on on the Sound for some shrimp and silvers on Thursday so I thought I'd give 'em a try. We don't have downriggers installed on our boat yet, so I'm thinking this is my best shot for trolling. We'll also try to mooch for a while as well, but I'd like to try these since they've been sitting in my storage room for a few years.

Any tips to make things go smoothly from those who have used them? Anything to avoid?

Default Proper Adjustment Is The Key

All of them that I have seen have a tension adjustment screw on the side of the release - make sure it's adjusted properly to release. Most of the time when I am fishing with two downriggers, we drop one off the back (in the middle) with a deepsix. There has been many times this method caught just as many fish as the downriggers. Try to use a line counter reel and keep track of the depth your setting it.
    How stupid is it to be wasting tons of salmon and halibut as bycatch in the Bering Sea and then have the coastal villages hollaring they have no food? It's got to stop!

Brian, I have gone to the Les Davis fishing website and they have a chart of line out to lure depth, and boat speed. Has come in pretty handy. Like nut said, the adjustment needs to be checked for tension. For silvers, I set a little on the light side. I would try some with just a single bait, spoon or spinner behind the diver and try adding a small flasher (8" Abe and Al is my favorite) or dodger. I actually haven't installed downriggers, and prefer to run divers. Good Luck.

When I am in Seward, and the diver is catching fish, I put the downriggers away since the divers are so much more easier to use.