Thread: Here are all the details on how to mail frozen fish via usps

Default Here are all the details on how to mail frozen fish via usps

I've learned a lot the past few days; there are quite a large number of technicalities that one must follow to legally mail fish; this post contains what I've learned.

If you know better on any of these points please post a correction or maybe a mod can fix this post so we don't lead anyone astray. This is my best effort but I'm not an expert on this:

- Using a fish shipping box is probably a good idea, but not required. Flat rate boxes work but are small. Insulate the box best you can.
    - 5# max of Dry ice is allowed. insulate it from the frozen fish.
    - sport caught fish can be sent to anyone. subsistence caught fish can only be sent to immediate family members
    - Hit the last post of the day so it will fly out of ANC with the least sitting in ANC.
    - Required form from Fish and Game to transfer possession of fish: http://www.wc.adfg.state.ak.us/regul...s/transfer.pdf
    - Required form for USPS: shipper's declaration form for dangerous goods must be done in triplicate with each signed; this shows contents, amounts, and packaging methods; here is that form: http://www.wvdhhr.org/labservices/sh...rous_goods.pdf The UN for Dry ice is 1845, for that form.
    - DOT Class 9 Miscellaneous Hazardous Warning Labels must be affixed to the box: here is one you can print: http://www.labelsmadeeasy.com/dbimag...mod=1201669200
    - Next to the DOT warning label you must list the contents of the box
    - You must plainly mark the box "Dry Ice, UN1845"
    - Priority shipping can be as fast as 2 days.