Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Duracoat Project...

Default Duracoat Project...

I'm still pretty new to this so I attempted a factory Ruger 10/22 stock...and decided to do a little tutorial

A few of the products I'm using for this project. Iwata airbrush, mineral spirits, Tru-Strip, Krylon Webbing spray-paint, Duracoat paint and hardener, masking tape, scotch-brite, and most importantly A RESPIRATOR!!!

The stock was brand new, so it was clean to begin with. However, I stripped the stock with mineral spirits, roughed up the surface a bit with the scotch brite and cleaned it with the spirits a second time to ensure it was clean. I didn't get a whole lot of dirt off the stock, but enough to discolor the shop towels...and I always hear prep work is the most important. I decided to mask off the factory checkering to set off the color I planed to shoot, then cut out the masks with a razor knife....
    Last edited by hunt_ak; 07-29-2009 at 20:35.

Heres the stock all cleaned, stripped, and buffed....ready for paint

Here's my little table with everything I'd need. I bummed an old set of measuring spoons off my Mom for this. Laquer thinner cuts this stuff great, as does the Tru-Strip, but the Tru-Strip is expensive and I generally only use it for cleaning my brush because having a spray is convenient. You also need LATEX gloves for this stuff as Duracoat eats nitrile gloves fo lunch!! I use the jar for mixing the paint and hardener...

Did some test-spraying to make sure my brush was working on some butcher-paper

Starting to spray the stock, and YES, I'm wearing my mask!!

Making some progress...

You can see it gets pretty foggy in there....again, the mask is needed...

I'm done with the color. I've used a fair amount of paint and have maybe 2-3 layers on the stock.