Thread: Kenai or Kasilof tomorrow (Mon 27JUL)

Question Kenai or Kasilof tomorrow (Mon 27JUL)

This is my first year dipnetting. I've been twice already with measly results. 9 the first trip (18JUL) and 3 the second (22 JUL). Apparently, if I stayed longer the first trip I would have netted more fishies...left around 6. I've been to the Kenai (city side) both times. Will it be worth my while to go tomorrow? Keep in mind I don't have a vehicle I can drive on the beach.

Thank you to everyone who replies!

Personally, I would consider the Kasilof. You don't have to drive on the beach. Go to the north beach access (about mile 5 of K-Beach) and you can drive to within 100 yards of the fishing without driving on the beach sand. There are no user fees, so it's cheaper and closer access than the Kenai beach with the toll booths and such.

I'd hardly call getting a dozen wild Alaskan salmon fresh out of the ocean "measly" results. Go to the grocery store and look at how much you'd spend for 24 fresh red salmon fillets in the meat department. We should all be thankful for what we harvest, regardless of size and quantity.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

Quote Originally Posted by JOAT View Post
    Personally, I would consider the Kasilof. You don't have to drive on the beach. Go to the north beach access (about mile 5 of K-Beach) and you can drive to within 100 yards of the fishing without driving on the beach sand. There are no user fees, so it's cheaper and closer access than the Kenai beach with the toll booths and such.

I'd hardly call getting a dozen wild Alaskan salmon fresh out of the ocean "measly" results. Go to the grocery store and look at how much you'd spend for 24 fresh red salmon fillets in the meat department. We should all be thankful for what we harvest, regardless of size and quantity.