Thread: Lamiglass 8 wt and reds

Default Lamiglass 8 wt and reds

I picked up a Lamiglass 8wt from the base and used it for the 1st time last Sunday am on the Kenai for reds. Wow. What a blast? Had a little hole targeted and hooked into about 15 fish.
    Problem was I kept foul hooking them AND was only using a 8lb leader, it kept snapping clean off. That and the fact as a noob I'm sure I lost some due to the lack of experience on a fly rod
    BIG difference from a spinning rod, or as it's been called my telephone pole.
    I've changed the leader and now just need to get back out since I THINK I have it figured out more.
    Can't wait till momma gives me a green light again

Chuck - I fish with an 8wt as well and usually use a 12lb test leader for early run Russian reds and a 15lb leader for late run reds and silvers. Even so, I still break off a number of flies, particularly on foul hooked fish. That's all part of the fun, though.

Eight weight Lamiglass rods are the way to go for flipping, IMO. I don't fish the Kenai much, but they work great on the Klutina. It is the same fishing technique, but there is no way you can land a fish with 8lb test on the Klutina, current is just way to fast. I go with 20lb mono at least.

Fish On!
    You know your not catching any fish when you start talking about the weather...

http://www.alaskansalmonslayers.com/

An 8wt is a great rod for reds and silvers, but I go 12# leader on the early russian and 20-30# leader on the Kenai late run fish. There is some stong current and brute fish to deal with. Up your leader size and have fun.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/