Thread: Smoker "Cook" Times

Exclamation Smoker "Cook" Times

I've been using a Big Chief smoker for several years with great success. However, based on the "cook times" cited by others, I'm thinking that mine runs significantly cooler than the average temperature for this appliance.

On average, it takes roughly eight hours to smoke a batch of reds -- and that's when I insulate the device with cardboard boxes (shallow produce crates that are free from Costco) to speed up the process. Exposed to the elements (uninsulated), it takes about 12 hours to finish a batch of fish with this smoker.

Granted, I ususally smoke my fish in September and October, so the outdoor temperatures are getting fairly chilly by then and probably prolonging the "cook" time.

Still, when friends and colleagues tell me that they're able to crank out a full batch of reds in four to six hours, I can't help wondering whether I'm dealing with a "lemon."

Please advise. Thanks.

Default big chief

lots of people i know who use those say that the heating source is inadequate.....they have ripped it out and put in a good electric hot pan...six hours sounds about right for reds....change out the chips every 45min to one hour so the smoke doesnt get bitter
    "early to bed, early to rise, fish like hell, and make up lies"

Thumbs up No More Early Morning Wake Ups

I'd love to be able to knock out a batch in just six hours. I HATE getting out of bed at 2 or 3 in the morning to pull my fish out of the smoker because the process takes so long. Sounds like a hot plate just might be the way to speed things up.