Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how many yards

Default how many yards

I have not shot a bow in years, but I was thinking of getting back into it again. Then I started watching a hunting show the other day and the guy shot an elk at 80 yards and said it ran 100 feet and died. If that is true, I was wondering about the regular hunter out there with all this high tech. gear,bows and long bows how far does the average person shoot and take big game.

Default This is Just Me

I've been shooting my bow for a couple years now and I won't take a shot at ANY animal over 50 yards. There are just way to many variables when you get much further out than that. There are some people that would disagree with me but every shooter needs to know their own limits. Marc the FOB freak (you'll see posts on here from him) was talking about being able to shot something crazy like 80 yards or something with a 7" group. Now that's an impresive archer. I won't be doing that but if he can shoot that well then more power to him. But like I said, we all need to know our own limits. You have to keep in mind that an arrow is going to take a lot more time to hit it's target than a bullet will....and there are some many things that can happen in that time that can change your shot. A small twig that you didn't see 60 yards down range. The wind picks up for just half a second right after release. If you practice indoors it's WAY different than out in the field. When I first started out I worked really hard on 35-40 yard shots before I even considered moving up to 50. I still haven't taken a shot at an animal from that far yet but I practice every chance I get incase the time comes when I can't get that critter any closer than 50. Just remember to start small and get a lot of practice in, and don't move up in distance until you are confident with your shooting at the shorter distances. Just my 2 cents.

Cool