Thread: Help on 20 mile

Smile Help on 20 mile

Help!! Let me start by saying I have plenty of experience in river running. One of the first to run jet boats in 1974. Maybe the first to run the Kenai in a jet. Anywhere from a 50 hp Merc jet to a 22 ft Yukon jet pushing 400 hp. From the 20 mile and all south to the Yukon and as far out as McGrath. Now as its been at least 20 years since I was on the 20 mile I need help. I currently have a 20 foot SeaArk with a Yamaha 115/85. Is this to much boat for 20 mile? I use to spend a lot of time on the Placer, the wide SeaArk is to much for that river. To back up a little, I have applied for a moose permit in that area for 30 plus years, never to receive one. Had a couple buddies that I told to apply and they both drew. Finally this year my younger wife drew one. My initial game plan was for the Placer, but based on my boat, I think the 20 mile would be better. Point of interest, had a friend take a 70 incher off the placer in mid 80's, going up the river with his son and shot him on the bank.
    Back to the 20 mile. How difficult is it to the fork and I am guessing that is the 20 mile and Glacier creek, about how far time wise? Can I get further up either channel without to many problems? Is there a place to tent camp at the fork?? Is the fork one of the silver fishing holes?? I have gone back and looked at all the postings on 20 mile, including the last where they had the accident. None really helped me with maybe the exception of getting a wind shield under the RR bridge. Any and all info will be appreciated, my wife will also thank you.