Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SOTAR Radical

Default SOTAR Radical

Does anyone own one of these rafts and if so, what do you think of them? Obviously, the name SOTAR is recognizable, so the boat should be good. Does anyone know the specs on it?

Thanks,
    Moose44

"Three hunters with gear and two moose in one boat"? Not sure man, sounds a bit optimistic to me. But I am new to rafting and my opinions value should reflect that. I bought a Sotar 14'4" custom from Goo Vogt of Alaska Wildwater in Anch. He is a forum member "goeaux". If looking for a Sotar, perhaps contacting him would be a good move. If nothing else, that would at least give you something to compare against. My boat looked brand new and cost the same as the one I assume you are looking at. Food for thought at any rate. Below is a pic of our raft with borrowed frame/oars at the time...

Alaska Wildwater
    Attn: Goo Vogt
    PO Box 110615
    Anchorage, AK 99511
    Ph 907-345-4308
    E-mail: sotaralaska@yahoo.com

Below is an older thread about rafts and float hunting. Perhaps of interest to you...

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...light=goo+vogt

The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Smile custom 'Radical'

Quote Originally Posted by Moose44 View Post
    Does anyone own one of these rafts and if so, what do you think of them? Obviously, the name SOTAR is recognizable, so the boat should be good. Does anyone know the specs on it?

Thanks,
    Moose44
    I can tell you that the custom 'Radical' is a narrow width (like nearly 1-2 feet skinny when compared with mainstream rafts) too long and too flat (no rocker) for it to be a great all around boat.

That said --- It was constructed in the USA by SOTAR.. but a 'special needs' boat it is. It is not going to be found in the SOTAR catalog or Website.