Thread: 460 reloading for bears

Default 460 reloading for bears

i'm new to alaska and new to the 460, but have been reloading for years. i'd like to work up loads pushing large meplat casts (360-395 gr) at slower speeds (~1200fps) in a 2.75 inch smith. i don't need the long range velocity, and i gotta believe a slower heavier bullet will do the trick while being more manageable. (am i wrong there?). there seems to be some discussion as to which primers to use in the 460-- large rifle vs magnum. anybody smarter than me have any suggestions where to start?

What primer you use is more about the powder in front of it. If I load H110/W295 I want mag primers for positive ignition, most other powders do fine without mag primers.

I pack 395 grain hard cast over 36.5 grains of Lil-Gun and gets me 1600fps from my 4” 460V. It should rock a mad bear’s world about like a 45-70 and that is what I want. I would guess this load would get about 1200fps from a 2-1/2” gun and backing down to 35-1/2 or 36 grains should get where you want to be. You may want to try faster burning powders like 2400 in your snub and see what you get over a chronograph.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

i think the issue was rifle vs magnum pistol primers, not magnum rifle. i don't think you're saying you use magnum rifle primers are you?

I don't have any experience with the 460, but I use reloader 17 with magnum rifle primers in my 450 Marlin with very good results using hardcasts. Ballistically, the 460 Smith and the 450 Marlin are not far off. You might give that a shot. I realize I'm kind of comparing apples to oranges here since I'm reloading for a rifle, but I've been very happy with that combo.

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.