View Poll Results: Which shelter would you get?

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • Hilleberg Tarp 10 UL

5 25.00%
  • Siltarp 2

1 5.00%
  • Siltarp 3

1 5.00%
  • Silshelter

2 10.00%
  • Sildome

3 15.00%
  • Something else?

8 40.00%

Thread: ultralight tarp shelter

Default ultralight tarp shelter

[IMG]file:///C:/Users/R/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-7.jpg[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/R/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-8.jpg[/IMG]I'm looking to get an ultralight tarp to use primarily as a shelter while spiking out during a sheep hunt, but possibly for other uses as well.

I'm looking at the integral designs Siltarp 2, Siltarp 3, Silshelter, and Sildome as well as the Hilleberg Tarp 10 UL.

Have any of you had good or bad experiences with these? Any thoughts to share? What would you get?

Hilleberg tarp

Siltarp 2

Siltarp 3

Silshelter

Sildome

Thanks,
    Richard

I've been using this or something very similar to this for the past two years. Granted at 1.7 pounds is not UL but decent for 50 sq ft of space and complete wind break unlike the tarps that just block the rain. My wife doesn't like to day hunt without it during the rain. If she knows we are going to be out all day and its raining when we leave she demands that I take it along. But who can agrue atleast I don't have to get the kitchen pass to get out and hunt when the one that issues these passes is coming along so another 1.7 pounds in my pack I can handle. The setup seems to work well for us anyways. Just another option to look into.

http://www.golite.com/Product/prodde...x?p=SH6122&s=1

Another option you may want to consider is buying a 3 or 4 season tent and using the fly off that tent plus a footprint? You could do this with one of the Hillebergs and other mountaineering tents and have double-use with or without the tent body. I have a 4 season Sierra Designs tent I've done this with and it has worked great (close to 2 lbs w/poles + stakes + floor).