Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aviat Husky Question

Default Aviat Husky Question

Hey Guys,

I'm not a bush pilot, but am shopping for a Husky right now. We are wanting an airplane on floats for some fun and I want to know everybody's opinion on the 180 vs 200 hp versions. I have heard a few say that the 180 is preferred and I kind of find that hard to believe since the 200 is injected. Just wanting some education and any other helpful tips are greatly appreciated. Thanks for the help.

KHSGT

How experienced are you? Huskies are are EXPENSIVE! they are the best IMO, but for starters I would go with a supercub.

I'm a high time corporate pilot but no bush or seaplane time. The company I work for is considering a float plane purchase and the Aviat sales guy I spoke with said that most people prefer the 180hp on floats to the 200. This doesn't make any sense to me and I am just wanting some further education. We currently operate 2 business jets and a Cirrus

And another question for anybody, if you had $400,000 to spend, what kind of floatplane would you buy and why that particular one?

Quote Originally Posted by khsgt View Post
    I'm a high time corporate pilot but no bush or seaplane time. The company I work for is considering a float plane purchase and the Aviat sales guy I spoke with said that most people prefer the 180hp on floats to the 200. This doesn't make any sense to me and I am just wanting some further education. We currently operate 2 business jets and a Cirrus

And another question for anybody, if you had $400,000 to spend, what kind of floatplane would you buy and why that particular one?
    Do you really want a two place? What about a Found Bushhawk?

Quote Originally Posted by Alaskaflyer331 View Post
    Do you really want a two place? What about a Found Bushhawk?
    A 2 place is all that is required, but more is always good. Any experience with the Found?