Thread: Load placement

Default Load placement

When floating do you prefer nose heavy, tail heavy or level? What differences in performance will you experience with the different placements?Am I correct it thinking that when floating the nose is downstream and the tail is upstream?

Based on what little I know, the nose (bow) is downstream, and the tail (stern) is upstream in most rafting scenarios. For load placement, my goal is to distribute weight as evenly as possible. Weight being people and gear of course. I would be worried to have an overly heavy bow or stern. Also keep in mind that the exact placement of the frame, particularly the placement of the oars, will make a big difference. Some like oars in the middle, some a little back of middle, but this is something you would want more insight from more experienced rafters than I. I am just learning myself. I did notice recently that with others in the raft, frame was a bit back. While going solo, raft performed better with frame forward a bit (in dead center) of the raft. Lots of variables, but do be aware of the placement of the oars in relationship to the weight (and its placement) in the boat.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Default load distribution on rafts

I prefer to be slightly tail-heavy, especially in shallow water. This allows my bow to float over the shallow spot before my stern grounds out and stops the boat. I can ship my oars, jump out and push through, and when I climb aboard my bow is still pointed downstream like it should be. If my bow grounds out first, the current pushes the stern around (because it is still floating) and I ground out sideways. This puts me out of position to deal with upcoming obstacles once we float free. Of course if the boat is loaded totally level, the bow will ground out before the stern also, with the same negative effect.