Thread: leafy above, nothing below

Default leafy above, nothing below

This is my first time gardening in Alaska (I'm in Anchorage). I started everything from seed in the middle of May. It all came up but some of it is doing weird things. The only veggies that are a success are anything that grows above ground: lettuce, peas. All of the root veggies (radishes, beets, turnips, onions) are huge and leafy above the ground but not growing at all below. Its gotten so bad that the radishes are woody stalks with no roots. Does anyone know where I went wrong? I started pulling stuff up and replanting...maybe I just started too early?

Everything has close to full sun, lots of water and Miracle Gro.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

heck it is all young yet... pick it in September... most seeds are started in march up here. in a green house... the garden is planted AFTER memorial day.. and harvested at frost time...

things grow quick here.. roots in cold soil take a little longer to mature. next year put in raised beds. you will do much better...
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

"Everything has close to full sun, lots of water and Miracle Gro."

Try a Miracle Gro with less nitrogen. That is the first number in the set of three. I read that part somewhere (I think in AK Garden Guide)

I just yanked up my disappointing dime sized bolting radishes and started another batch. Mine kept drying out in the heat of the day no matter how much I watered them - the roots just stopped growing. I just learned some of this info from an 81 year old former turnip farmer.

He also said keep them well watered but not soaked. Try not to let them dry out I guess. Wish you luck!