Thread: Fishing on Kenai in August for the first time

Smile Fishing on Kenai in August for the first time

Hello all,

I was pointed to this forum from the archerytalk forum. Anyway, I'm Tom from Wisconsin, and I'm coming up to AK the first 3 weeks of August. We'd planned to take the first week of august for the Kenai peninsula, and I've read that fishing can be good in Seward around that time.

Can anyone give me any general tips on where or how to fish around this time frame? I don't plan to pay outrageous guide fees, so I'm hoping to just catch a few salmon or whatever else on my own. I've fished lake Michigan since I was a kid, so I'm not really a newbie, just a newbie to fishing AK.

Also, my girlfriend loves hiking in the mountains. Are bears a big concern on the kenai peninsula? I'm a little worried about that, since I don't really have any experience with bears.

Thanks for listening

When I first moved up here my friend got me a book called "The Flyfisher's Guide to Alaska" by Scott Haugen. It has a lot of good info about run timing, places to fish throughout the Kenai as well as the rest of Alaska, and directions. The book covers flyfishing as well as use of terminal gear. There are even tips as to which areas are known for excessive bear encounters.

Russian River should be good for reds. The hike to the Russian River Falls was a hike my family really enjoyed, its not that long 2 or 3 miles IIRC. I've been toying with the idea of taking my wife and 2 small kids up there once the 2nd run starts going good. Hike up to the falls, then down to where you can fish, and just fish my way down the river. Be a bit slower fishing as I'd have to help the kids along the trail but I think it has potential to be a fun day. Think there may be silvers in Seward too, never fished out of there so not sure spots or what not. I'd recommend checking the emergency orders on the website before you head out to fish too.
    http://www.sf.adfg.state.ak.us/region2/index.cfm