Thread: sore toes; hiking boot question

Default sore toes; hiking boot question

I am new at heavy packing and have recently learned that my feet swell up to at least one size larger than normal with a 70# pack, after a few miles.. I plan on a mountain goat hunt near Cordova this fall and need advise soon as to the best boot and what to do about this size problem..should one get larger boots?..thanks for any advise,
    Sore toes on old yeller

I am no expert on boots, but I went up the mountain once with boots that did not fit snug and got blisters all over my feet (on the heel going up, and the toes coming down). Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by old yeller View Post
    I am new at heavy packing and have recently learned that my feet swell up to at least one size larger than normal with a 70# pack, after a few miles.. I plan on a mountain goat hunt near Cordova this fall and need advise soon as to the best boot and what to do about this size problem..should one get larger boots?..thanks for any advise,
    Sore toes on old yeller
    With the footbed out of the boot, wear your socks and step on just one of the footbeds with full body weight. You should have about a thumb width of room between the end of your toes and the footbed, this is a first impression of proper boot size.

Use a Superfeet Green or Orange. Make sure you get the correct size, many users to not and then say they do not work. I like the Orange as they have the pilot to increase bloodflow so my feet do not get as tired. Either way, Superfeet support and control the foot, I thought it was an ad ploy until I started using them.