Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Legal Moose Pics, as prep for my hunt...

Exclamation Legal Moose Pics, as prep for my hunt...

Good morning, Alaska! Just a request from any successful moose hunters who are so inclined, I'd like a few frontal and/or side pics of 50" moose. I'm trying my best to be prepared for a first time moose hunt with my son ( Ak resident, military) in September.
    I'm a Michigan resident, trying hard to prep thoroughly for this trip. Been working out strenuously, getting a good load for my Marlin Guide gun, but still can't say I'd recognize a 50" moose in the wild.
    HERE'S MY PLAN:
    A.) Find pics of MEASURED moose racks, make mock-ups of OSB or plywood, and take them into the field or to the shooting range and get good at estimating them by naked eye, 8x binoculars, 2.5x scope, and spotting scope. Real photos might make this more feasible. If not,
    B.) Wing it. Make an "artistic rendering" and give it my best shot.
    (Actually, I'd just love to see what I'm looking for , to be completetly stoked before I land in your heaven-on-earth.)
    My humble thanks for any and all replies.

Default Judging moose antler spread

Beautriz,

If you haven't already, check out THIS VIDEO. It was put together by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game specifically for this purpose. Best resource out there; at the end of the video they look at around 20 moose and you try to judge the spread. Then they tell you what it was.

As you have surmised, the best way of judging antler spread is to look at a lot of moose. I'll shoot you some pics when we return from Seward; meanwhile HERE'S A LINK to a bull you can try to estimate! The actual spread is at the end of the article, so don't peek!

-Mike
    Last edited by Michael Strahan; 07-05-2009 at 09:37.
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.