Thread: Knight Island Camping

Question Knight Island Camping

Thinking about trying for some lings and whatever on the North Side of Knight. Looks kinda rocky there. Is Herring Bay suitable for anchoring and beaching? I'm a rookie in this area so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Doug
    We never really grow up, we only learn
    how to act in public

There arent many good places to anchor around Knight island. You can anchor in Herring and lower Herring bay but they are not good if the weather is bad. The better anchorage is the "hole" in Disc island. The best place to anchor is in Cabin Bay on Naked island, there is even a mooring bouy if you dont want to drop your hook.

Default I've heard about the hole on Disc

Quote Originally Posted by LastSplash View Post
    There arent many good places to anchor around Knight island. You can anchor in Herring and lower Herring bay but they are not good if the weather is bad. The better anchorage is the "hole" in Disc island. The best place to anchor is in Cabin Bay on Naked island, there is even a mooring bouy if you dont want to drop your hook.

What kind of beaches?
    how to act in public

stimpy

The best camping beach I know of on Knight Island is Hogan Bay (it's a darned good anchorage for a small boat, too), but it isn't at the north end of the island. It's at the southeast side, and you know what that means; you've got to expose yourself to the side open to the Sound.

It has a nice, high, sandy camping spot. Pretty much everyplace else on the island, you're going to be sleeping on rocks.