Thread: Matanuska river trip from the Palmer bridge to the Flatts

Default Matanuska river trip from the Palmer bridge to the Flatts

well im relatively new to the rafting world and i recently got a raft and 2 friends and i decided to go and explore, we had a map, food/drinks, and a gun. (spare clothes and yada yada). We launched at around 9:15 sat. morning from the old glenn bridge in palmer. We made it more than half way in about 2 hours (the water was moving!!) as soon as we got past the butte it started to slow down. which conviently the sun had come out in full effect and we got to float the slow moving windy river, we stopped or lunch on one of the many islands thanks to the changing current which produced a ton of tributaries. We ended up at the bridge by Knik river just as we passed under the train bridge we got lucky to see a train crossing and get some awesome pictures. We pulled the raft out at about 3pm. Awesome day, fun trip, i would suggest this journey for someone out for a mild day trip to get away from civilization for a while

Awesome story! Thanks for sharing. I live just a few mins. from the river and I would love to take my kiddos separately on this. My one girl is 11. Do you think this float could be done in a canoe? If not I have a raft too.

I would say yes to the canoe....we had to get out of the raft once because it got shallow but other than that it was fine it gets shallow in some spots that i think the raft might be "better" but the canoe should be fine. I would also suggest going to sportsmans warehouse and going to the map station and zooming in on the section you are rafting and print it out. (its 10 bucks) we didnt so much use the map for the river but for the landmarks, it gave us kind of a timeline lol... good luck