Thread: Favorite Hunting Memory/Story

Post Favorite Hunting Memory/Story

Whats your favorite hunting story/memory? Or just something special you have experienced in the field.Feel free to share your stories!

Good hunting

Default Nice Columbia Blacktail Buck

This is my first attempt at posting a picture, hope it works see last line for pic.
    I have lived in Alaska for the past 28 years. My brother invited me archery hunting for blacktail deer in California. I have not hunted blacktail since leaving there for Alaska.
    When I was departing Fairbanks International Airport I ran into some out of state hunters that had just flown in to go caribou & sheep hunting. They saw me with my bow case and thought I had just finished hunting in Alaska. They asked where I had been hunting and how I had done. They couldnít believe I was leaving Alaska to go hunting in California!
    I told my brother when I got there that I was only interested in taking a nice blacktail buck. I didnít have to kill anything and would hold out for a nice one. I had killed my share of bucks as a young boy with my rifle. I would only have about 4-5 days to hunt. Brother had done some pre-season scouting and built a couple of tree stands near some active deer trails.