Thread: Dog food recipes

Default Dog food recipes

No, I don't have too much time on my hands, I'm actually a busy person. I have had an idea of making dog food with a pressure cooker for years, but this year I'd like to try. I'm talking about using meats and fish (usually leftovers from butchering a caribou or moose and fish parts, skins, ect. or freezer burned meat along with vegetables, etc.) and making sort of a "soup". I'm not a big fan of commercial dog food so my dog gets a carefully balanced "leftovers" diet mostly. Just wondering if anyone has a recipe for this kind of thing or actually does it. I have looked online but did't really like what I found so far. I'm wondering what iditarod dogs eat besides dog food for ideas.
    Hike faster. I hear banjo music.

Kink Alaska surrounded by sled dog kennels, a fabulous view and lots of hunting.

Default Homemade dog food.

Due to the cost of “good” kibble and the degrading the ingredients, I’ve been making “stew” for several months. We have 1 field bred Lab, a chocolate Lab that has some kind of reaction to commercial kibble, a GreatDane/Greyhound and a Saluki/pointer sprint dog. All have different needs and none of them work really hard. The Saluki has to be enticed to eat. He grew up in a racing kennel with homemade food.
    If you Google “dog food recipes” you’ll fine a ton. One combination I found was 1/3 meat protein , 1/3 grain, 1/3 vegetables. What you use depends on the dogs.
    The chocolate Lab, seems to react to wheat and or corn. Brett Gibson at Yummy Chummies explained it’s not necessarily the grain but how much there is. While ground corn or wheat may be 3rd on the list of ingredients, corn flour, gluten, may also be there. Add the wheat and corn products they should be at the top of the list.