Thread: First (unintentional) swim

Exclamation First (unintentional) swim

I am curious to hear some of the stories out there of your first flip or ejection into our beautiful Alaska waters. What did you do wrong? What did you do right? Tips, tricks or lessons learned?

Mine was this last weekend on the Tazlina, a couple miles downstream of House Rock. I've been rafting for 5 years but never in class III+. The biggest I had done previously is Eagle River campground at high water, which is technical but short. I thought I was doing pretty well and got a little full of myself. Went over a deceptively small looking pourover in a Super Puma and didn't power my way over the top, my rearend got sucked in and just like that I was in the drink. Fortunately, the gear was tied in for going over Niagara Falls, so the only losses were my hat and a little youthful exuberance.

Default flips...

...there are those that have flipped, and those that will flip. Win some, learn some...

dennis

Default Flip

My thoughts are--- its best to get that first one behind you- but never forget they are all different!!
    safe boating

Thumbs up Rafts Flipped --- Folks Immersed

Two things about AIRE Puma Series:

1.) They handle very well as far as maneuverability

2.) They are not nearly as stable or forgiving in possible flip scenarios as the wider beam, more standard width to length raft

I had a large 'rental party' (emphasis on party... read as gung-ho with few experts in the crowd) go out with my custom SOTAR 14' SP and commercial AIRE 156E boats to the Upper Gulkana River. Both of these boats punched through all the biggest waves/holes no problem... no mater the captains, party time strategies, entries, or orientation into the hazards. A Puma (not one of our rental fleet) attempting the same shots flipped quickly & easily like a flap-jack over a greased griddle despite entering out of pure luck on a slightly better line.