Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Russian river flies and 3/8" gap

Default Russian river flies and 3/8" gap

I'm going back to the Kenai for some reds this evening (as soon as my working wife is off work) and measured the russian river flies I have.
    They are exactly 3/8" gap (from point to shank) as it says in the regs.
    Thinking back there was a guy on a fly pole with a large hook and just a piece of yarn just slaying these things. He let all but one or two go, but I'm sure his hook gap was larger than my russian fly because we got tangled once. (He wouldn't tell me what he was using so I just tangled us so I could see...Just kidding)
    Am I reading the regs wrong? I have some 4-0 hooks that are way larger than 3/8" that could be rigged up but I don't want to be a illegal, sorry, undocumented fisher
    Or since I'm still a noob, are there larger hooks that still close with a 3/8" gap? If so, which ones are they? Are they better? Do I need to stop on my way down to pick some up?