Thread: Klutina reds a no show

Default Klutina reds a no show

Went down to Klutina Friday thru Sunday afternoon. Saw maybe 8 fish caught. Was a nice drive but no fish.

Moose, Thanks for taking the time to line me out with words of wisdom and a starter kit of materials. Now I know how to fish in the Klutina. It was much appreciated.

maybe you could help me out with a list as I'm new to fishing
    and am heading to the klutina here on the 15th

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.

hmm...number are looking promising, I would bet there will be good fishing this coming weekend. I'm heading down there Thursday night, I will report back Monday with results. Thanks for the Report!

Fish On!
    You know your not catching any fish when you start talking about the weather...

http://www.alaskansalmonslayers.com/

I havent heard from my buddies in a few days (sat morning) but the report I had was the same..high muddy water on the gulkana and no fish in the klutina...they did catch ONE for 3 rods in a number of hours fishing. They've been there all week with little to show for it.

Default Klutina list

Quote Originally Posted by ret25yo View Post
    maybe you could help me out with a list as I'm new to fishing
    and am heading to the klutina here on the 15th

It was my first time down there, but the list is easy. Take a 8wt fly rod or a sturdy medium action rod and reel with 17lb. test. I used a three way swivel and attached my lead weight off the swivel and then a 2 ft. leader with a 3/0 hook and piece of pink or orange yarn on the hook. I tried a couple of flies also, but as mentioned before, no fish biting. The few fish I did see caught had the yarn on the hook set up.

Believe it or not Sportsman Warehouse is actually cheaper prices than Walmart was on the hooks and yarn. Plus at least at Sportsman you can get some help from someone who knows something about fishing.

Quote Originally Posted by egreife View Post