Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coho flies for near Cordova

Default Coho flies for near Cordova

I'm an absolute salmon newbie. It seems like each river or area of Alaska has variations of standard flies for silvers. Me and my girl will be north of Cordova chasing silvers for 5-6 days starting August 26. We will be stationed in one of the bays (Simpson I think) with a small boat, unguided. I'm guessing a lot of our fishing will be done at the mouth of rivers and streams where the fish are stacking up.

We have never fished in the ocean, river mouths, or anything similar, so....I was hoping some folks here could help me out with some tips on techniques and flies. I keep hearing it will be easy, but I don't want to sit out there catching nothing on the trip of a lifetime!!

We have floating lines and I already plan on picking up plenty of beads, flesh flies, flash flies, and purple ESLs. I'm wondering what else would be good for that area? Would it be worth it trying some pollywogs to get some topwater action?

What about techniques? Do we need to get our flies down really well or will they chase them/come up to them? Are they more agressive when they're still fresh in the salt? Do you burn streamers by them or set them on the fish's nose?

Thanks for any help!

a few wogs wouldnt hurt. I dont get much action on them though occasionally they do work. It's awesome when it does...see a big ole hooked kype coming out of the water gobbling it up!

Definatly tie up some fuschia bunny flies, weighted and un weighted. They work very well for coho's! IMHO you cant have to many of them. I prefer to tie them up with just lead eyes, but you can add more lead on some too (might not be a bad idea considering your line choices. Dunno never fished there.

You can use yarn too...it'll work just fine if you know how to eggloop a hook. Good backup knowledge incase you run out of flies.

I can't believe I forgot to ask....