Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Calling for bears...and other Brown Bear hunting methods

Default Calling for bears...and other Brown Bear hunting methods

This was mentioned and diluted in another thread so I thought I'd start a new one. Who has experience with this? As I understand it, the only species in AK illegal for electronic calling is moose. That said, which calls would you use (and I guess not necessarily electronic)? There were a few of you out there who seemed to have either done it or shared an interest. Of course this would be, likely, geared toward brownies, since you can bait black.

Being from Cantwell, I am still new at hunting in the lower elevations where you cant see very far, so this would seem like one of the only viable options for hunting brownies other than river-running or knowledge of a kill-site (like in crossfoxAK's success).

I have done it on Afognak Island, The first time, I was bored, and all we could see was trees, trees, trees, so I tooted a crying wabbit call, well let's say I was not mentally prepared for the results. The problem is you don't get to know whats coming, but it's coming, and maybe more than one large thing is coming.

The Meadows are small, and you can't stand in the middle, so you find a nice uprooted tree, and call across the small opening, but the bear can come up behind you. They sometimes come like a D-8 dozer crashing off the upper hillside, and you hear them coming a long ways. But if the forest floor is moss, they are just there noiselessly.
    It is always dark in the forest, and judging is hard, and must be done quickly. The bottom line for me is I don't like it, as a hunting method.

I guess you could use a tree-stand though....Thanks Hope~ From your experience, was it 'instant results' for you? Of course, that can never be expected, just curious in your circumstance...

Quote Originally Posted by hunt_ak View Post