Thread: 5 wt for reds?

Default 5 wt for reds?

I'm new to flyfishing and am going to Coho Cove, Kasilof this weekend. I have spinning rods I'm taking but picked up 2 cheap wallie world 5 wt rods I'm taking.
    Would these be ok for reds? I basically clueless about flyfishing but what the heck, I like being outside.
    Also, what flies would be suggested? I picked up some beads and have some russian river flies I've yet to use.
    Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanx!

Default Not really

Sorry to say fresh river run reds and wallie world 5W fly rods are not the bets combo not syaing it can not be done just not the best tool for the job! Being that you can catch fish with a wooden stick it is not that they are Wallie World rods that is your main concern. The fact that they are 5W just a little under-gunned i.e. taking a 22 pistol to a bear fight type under gunned.

As you progress you might want to consider a 7/8 W for fishing reds much more possible to land them that way without breaking your fishing stick.

Flies - Basic Stuff for the type of fishing your going to be accomplishing at this time.

Coho Fly - Russian River
    Flesh Fly for bows you have the bead thing which is cool
    Standard Gammy's with Yarn aka Flossing works as well for reds.

Nothing more special needed unless you change the type of fish your chasing.

Tight Lines and Best Wishes

Blue Moose

Default Thanks BlueMoose

I thought they may be a little light. My concern is that they would hurt the fish or muck them up somehow. Something I don't want since I try to teach my kids to do the right thing.
    Spin rods it is this weekend!
    Thanks again

Chuck - Your 5 weight rods will be perfect for pinks, which just so happen to be a great fish for kids. Once mid-July rolls around, give them a shot on the pinks and have fun!

Hey Chuck. Just because you saw my video of me catching reds on my 6 wt and june on her 5 wt does not mean you can .