Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kingfisher Boats

Default Kingfisher Boats

I was thumbing through the June issue of "Fish Alaska" and spotted an ad for a 2825 Pro Kingfisher w/ twin 130 e-tecs for 89K. This was a new boat for sale by AMDS, regular price 130K. I am unfortunately not in a posistion to jump on this, but it sure seems like a smokin deal?
    Is this a good price?
    What do you guys think?
    How do folks like their Kingfishers?

Default park and sell

They now have a park and sell program for folks who wish to sell their boats and have some public exposure. That may have been one! (of course it could be a really great deal).

It seems under powered for a boat that size, which is probably why they haven't sold it.

I saw the ad and thought that's a heck of deal for someone. Twin 130's on that boat seems like it would do 25-30 mph easy. But I'm no expert. Still for that price you get an pretty cush boat to camp, fish and whatever in.

I'm not 100% on this, but I think Honda quit the 130s in '05. There are quite a few "older" 2825's running around with twin 130s. I've been on one. It runs just fine. In '06 I bought a 2825 and it has twin 150s. It too runs just fine. I have never been on an Etec powered boat, but 130s will push that without any problem. And yes, that does seem like a great price.

I suppose I worded my response wrong. If I was getting a 28' hull with ~260 hp, I'd have a single engine. If I was getting a 28' hull with twin engines, the engines would be sized so that one engine could get the hull on plain, and that ain't happening with 130 hp.

The manufacturers listed capacity ratings make me wonder?
    Kingfishers 2525 Pro series weighing 4K is rated for a max of 250HP, compared to a Weldcraft 26 Cuddy at 4700 pounds pounds rated for a max of 500HP.?? Weldcrafts 26 Ocean King is 3600 and rated for 500 HP as well.?
    Is one Manufacturer just very conservative?
    Are the boats that diffrent?
    It tells me I have alot to learn?