Thread: Brown Bear Killer!!!

Cool Brown Bear Killer!!!

So I'm going to take my Remington .300 WSM, brown bear hunting this fall.
    How do you think this will hold up in bear country?
    I will also be taking my .44 mag, as my side kicker. Better be safe than sorry I guess. Anybody here had to shoot 300 yards or further for their kill?
    And by the way, I will be coming back with a brown bear or not coming back at all. I will stay out their as long as it takes.

I'm no bear expert, but I'm not sure how many people go for 300 yards (or better) shots on brownies - bears are hard to kill, and usually take more than one shot. It seems like most try to get a lot closer then 300 yards for their first shot, and then keep shooting untill the bear stops moving.

Use a quality 180 grain or 200 grain bullet, and try to get closer for your first shot, so it's easiet to hit the bear on the followup shots when it's dancing around or running after being hit by the first one.

Good luck and be careful.

Default i shoot a 300wsm

used it for the last five years guiding and hunting on my own....i have killed 3 brown bears, two sheep, a wolf, a goat, and two black bear with it......i have lost one brown bear and one moose with it however...i would suggest using atleast a 180 gr bullet...i'd also suggest barnes x....or some other heavily jacketed bullet.....i used winchester super x with great results however inside of 50 yards the bullete just exploded...so i will be switching to something more solid...i also suggests getting less than 100 yards for your first shots on the brownie....i did shoot one of the black bears at 465yds after the client wounded it and we jumped it out of a woodlot and it ran around the ravine on us....well thats my two cents.....good luck out there.....oh yeah md has it right....shoot and shoot again and when its dead shoot it again...its easier and cheaper for taxidermist to sew up holes than to get holes sewn up in you