Thread: newbe signing in

Default newbe signing in

Greetings:

I’m new to the forum and thought I would introduce myself.

My family will be moving from New Mexico to the McGrath area next month. I have been reloading for many years and would like to continue.

On a recent trip to Anchorage, I stopped at a gun shop just to check things out, and I asked about powder supplies for reloading. The men behind the counter burst out in laughter – that kind of answered my question.

How are powder supplies in Alaska, and are there any good suppliers? I have checked with a few suppliers in the lower 48, but they will not ship to Alaska. Some will ship primers, however. I cast many of my own bullets, but it’s always good to have a supply of factory bullets as well.

So in short, I’m looking for advice on obtaining supplies in the bush.

Are there any Alaska specific rules or regulations I should be aware of – or just advice on anything else firearm / reloading related?

I know this is off the reloading topic, but what are some options for legally getting firearms to Alaska? I checked with the TSA, and it looks like I can take them on the plane as long as the guns are in a hard sided, lockable case, but how many are allowed per case before it draws “unwanted” attention?

In any case, just thought I would say, “Howdy,” and any advice would be welcome.

Welcome Boot face...you're joining a very useful and helpful community here. Your questions about traveling to Alaska with firearms, shipment restrictions for powder, and the availability of powder in Alaska have been recently discussed in great detail here and on the Shooting Forum. Do a "search" and you'll get the answers you need. There's also a "sticky" on the Shooting Forum regarding transporting firearms. We've talked about these topics a whole bunch in past months.

Again...welcome.

Doc