Thread: Converting from prop to jet

Default Converting from prop to jet

I'm tired of grinding gravel & rocks so i'd like to put a jet unit on my 50hp yammie 4stroke. I think the swap of the lower units would be quite easy but i have a center console on the boat (18' G3 ) so i'm wondering what gets done for the forward & reverse cable? do i have to lengthen it to reach down to the jet or is there some kind of linkage that goes from the motor down to the jet. Oh yeah one other thing?? who's got the best deal on a jet unit in town??
    Thanks guys,
    Steve

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

Thumbs up I'll Try

To answer your questions Pete. I'm no expert, but have done this a couple of times.

First off, there is only one maufacturer of jet unit that will bolt on to convential outboards. It is Specialty Manufacturing Comapany out of San Leandro California. Call them at (510) 562-6049‎ to be sure they make one for your out board.

Mounting: Typically, you will need to re-maount your outboard 5-6" higher on your transom. This will line up the jet foot with the bottom of your boat. This can be done with a transom extension plate (permenant) or an adjustable jack plate.

Cables: Your forward and reverse cable goes to the nozzle gate and will need to be 18-24" longer. There is a 4' slave cable that runs from the nozzle gate up to your trottle.

I think that's about it. Call me if your going to do this, I have an aluminum welded transom plate I can barter with you on.

Doug
    We never really grow up, we only learn
    how to act in public

I swap between lower units.

Real jet boaters don't use the reverse bucket on the jet (they take it off) and therefore don't have to worry about that cable.

Sobie2

Quote Originally Posted by Doug from Anchorage View Post