Thread: Reloading data for Surplus H4831?

Default Reloading data for Surplus H4831?

Hi,
    I'm new to reloading. I have been given some old surplus 4831 powder and one type of bullet I bought is the Barnes TSX Boattail 168 grain. The data I have is dated 1963 for 150-165 grain and 180-200 grain, but nothing for the 168 grain. Only the 180-200 gr bullets calls for Hodgdon 4831 on the old data sheet. Since the date is 1963 I figure the surplus 4831 is good for the larger grain bullets at the amounts on the data sheet. My question is two fold, is my assumption correct on the 4831 and where can I find data for the 168 grain bullets, loading with the surplus 4831? (I'm assuming the loads for the surplus 4831 and the current H4831 are not the same, but I don't know for sure)

I did find this data: http://stevespages.com/308_6_165.html

But like I said, I'm not sure if the surplus is the same as the current 4831.
    I'm loading for a 300 weatherby, just FYI.
    Great forum by the way!

I read somewhere that some of the surplus 4831 was dupont, at least that was the thought of the writer. My data card says to use dupont IMR 4350 for 150-165, Hodgdon 4831 for 180-200. Why the different powder, I don't know. On the site I posted, they say 165-168 grain bullets use 69.9-85.5 grains of H4831. I'll try my 168 bullets at 70 and see how they shoot. What is an indication that I'll need to start moving up on the powder? I assume I should be able to look at the pattern and use that?

Quote Originally Posted by msta999 View Post
    Hi,