Thread: Gang Bullet Moulds

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Default Gang Bullet Moulds

I have very little experience moulding bullets, and what little I'm had was with single cavity moulds.

I've gotten bullets from other people, non-commmercial, and the bullets are not all the same size, as far as nose shape, and maybe other.

I guess gang moulds are spose to be the cat's meow, but I'd hesitate to use anything but single cavity.

Is this something that concerns anyone else? (That the cavities might not all be the same.)

Thanks
    Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

Quote Originally Posted by Smitty of the North View Post
    I have very little experience moulding bullets, and what little I'm had was with single cavity moulds.

I've gotten bullets from other people, non-commmercial, and the bullets are not all the same size, as far as nose shape, and maybe other.

I guess gang moulds are spose to be the cat's meow, but I'd hesitate to use anything but single cavity.

Is this something that concerns anyone else? (That the cavities might not all be the same.)

Thanks
    Smitty of the North

My experience with gang moulds is way in the past, but the lessons learned stuck with me. The biggest requirements I found had more to do with your lead furnace than the molds. A minimum 20-pound lead pot is needed, and bigger would be better. You need really consistent pour rates, and it was best to keep the pot more than half full, the spout clean, and the cutoff valve drip free. Heat the mold block really well and use a lead thermometer to find the right temps for your setup. You'll spend an awful lot of time tinkering with the dial on each casting session if you don't use the thermometer.