Thread: Drift boat question

Default Drift boat question

I'm new to drift boating. I plan to fish the middle Kenai and the Kasilof. Do I need to carry a spare oar? Any other safety equipment? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Do you need to? No.
    Is it a good idea? Yep.
    It is very hard to control with only one oar as you tend to go around in circles.
    Don't forget an anchor, and where and when you can anchor.
    It is forboten above the Killey.
    PFD's (personal floatation devices not permanent fund dividend ) for all on board.
    Spare rope is always good to have as well as a spare drain plug.
    A small first aid kit is another good to have item as well as bug dope and sun screen.

Yes....a spare oar is a very wise idea. I have seen guides on the Kasilof who broke one of their oars and had to use their spare. On the Kenai, we had an oar pop out of an oar lock (horns had been bent out a bit) and without a spare oar we wouldn't have been able to chase down the oar as it was floating down river.

Default Welcome!

I love to see new drifters! Except on Mondays J/K! As said before on the oar I have never broke an oar in 20+ years, but I do carry a 3 piece breakdown. Bug dope is not allowed in my boat, but I have one of those thermacells in there, and would not leave home without it. A hand bilge pump is nice on those really rainy days, and I have L.E.D. bow and anchor lights that are clamped on and run on aa batteries, they are a must have when on the Kenai in low light. A spare plug or 2 for when a powerboat wake slaps ya in the ass and pops your plug out and it rolls somewhere you cant reach. (or a spin n glow)! Dont tie the end of your anchor rope to anything or put a knot in the end, make sure it can go through the pulleys if needed. A sare oar lock and clip is another must have. Have fun and if you see a black Koffler w/a flaming fish stop me, there is usually something cold to drink in there too!